I became a mother almost six years ago. I had been teaching for four years at that point and LOVED my career. I finished my Master’s in Education a month before I had my first daughter. It was always my intention to be a working mom- I enjoyed teaching- I worked hard at it- I had a handful of challenging and unique students that kept me on my toes and far away from becoming a stagnant teacher… BUT the most amazing thing happened the day I gave birth. I became a mother.

So, as things worked out since I had a very great and supportive principal- I was able to finish the school year working 50% which was the most difficult thing. I worked for another year and a half part-time, and then stayed at home full-time when I had my son (child #2).

I would never in a million years have imagined my overcoming feeling of wanting to be a stay-at-home mom. I love being home with my kids- despite all the challenges and monotonous tasks that never leave my plate. I don’t want to go back to work. Such a different place than before I had kids.

I’m reading Mission of Motherhood by Sally Clarkson right now. She reflects on this calling:

“My calling as a mother is the same as any other Christian’s: to fulfill God’s will for our lives and to glorify him. This means I am to follow the Lord’s design for my marriage- cleaving to my husband, supporting him, honoring him, loving him as my own flesh. I am to be a careful steward of the world in which I live. I am to seek opportunities to bring God’s message of redemption to others, to make full use of the gifts and talents he has placed in my life to bring him glory and furter his kingdom. And I am to delight in Him and worship Him and praise Him in whatever circumstances I find myself… Because God has blessed me with a husband and children, a part of his call to me is to follow his plan for families. And that means I am to shepherd the hearts of the children whom he has providentially placed in my care. I am to care for them tenderly and to partner with God and my husband in leading my children to know and love His Work and to follow His will.”

The call to motherhood is so important.

