As we move about the season, I am trying to find some semblance of Jesus in the way we celebrate. Our calendar is full of wonderful things: Christmas parties with friends, gingerbread house decorating, filling boxes to give to kids that have less, Christmas programs at school, Bear night, Christmas with family and more Christmas with family, good food, Christmas carols, Christmas decorations, etc. We love so much of it. We struggle to give up any of it. Yet, do we take the time to find Jesus and discover the purpose of this season? I am trying to find and define ways that we can do this as a family. I did not grow up with traditions that included Jesus- so now  I am trying to figure out what that looks like for our family…

So far:

-we are lighting advent candles

-we are reading some verses as many nights as we can

that’s all I have so far… anyone else??

