I love a good bowl of soup- easy, ready, great leftovers, full of nourishment…

I just made some great lentil soup- the great thing about most soups is you can really use what you have, so embrace the flexibility of soup!

I sauteed the veggies I had in my fridge: a couple shallots, 3-4 cloves of garlic- crushed, a couple carrots grated, random greens chopped in olive oil and then let them “steam” in my big soup pot on low for 20 minutes or so leaving the lid cracked a bit.

*Use whatever soup worthy veggies you have on hand.

Then, I added some homemade chicken broth (omit if you don’t have and and use water), a jar of tomatoes, and a ham hock (you can pick them up for cheap at your local butcher).

*If you want to skip the broth and you are using the ham hock you can get away with just using water- you may need to add a bit more salt and pepper.

Let this cook together for a few hours- until the ham hock is falling apart. Remove the bones and shred the meat (leaving it in the soup).

When you are an hour or so out from eating add a bag of lentils (cheap and so good.) 15 minutes or so before serving TASTE THE SOUP…. if it is lacking flavor add a bit more salt and pepper.

Serve with steamed green beans, salad, and whole wheat biscuits.

