ng called Follow You

Have you heard the song Follow You? If not listen to it- it is awesome. Really listen to the words. “Follow you into the homes of the broken. Follow you into the world. Meet the needs for the poor and the needy God. I’ll follow you into the world.” As I listened to this the other day, I asked myself: “How do you follow God into the world? How do can I follow God into the world?”

“And I give all myself, I give all myself… to you.” “Faith without works is DEAD. On the cross your blood was shed. So how could we not give it away freely?” And I ask myself: How do you give of yourself? Really give of yourself freely? How can I be an example of this, Christ’s way of loving, to my children?

James 1:27 says, “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.

Psalm 68:5 says, “A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows, is God in his holy dwelling.”

Psalm 82:3 says, “Defend the cause of the weak and fatherless; maintain the rights of the poor and oppressed.”

These verses walk through my mind on a daily basis. I am convicted as a mother, at home filling my day mothering my children… There are SO many children out in our world without mothers or fathers. 145 million orphans in the world (2008 UNICEF). 500,000+ children in the foster care system. 51,000 adopted out of the foster care system each year. Thousands more children just became orphans in Haiti… The statistics go on and on. These are the fatherless… God calls us to advocate for them, to defend them, to look after them, to be a father to the fatherless? This is what God would do? What are we called to do? What is our responsibility as followers of Christ? How do we follow God into the world?

I am deeply conflicted about my role and our responsibility as a God fearing family. Three of my own children is relatively easy, more kids more work, more kids more cost, more kids more issues, not my own kids probably emotional issues among others, out of my comfort zone… These thoughts run through our heads. But really does God care about these excuses and concerns? These are His children, He created them, for His perfect purpose…

just my thoughts to ponder…

