I am a homemaker. I am a homemaker by choice. I have a college degree, a Master’s degree, job experience, and substantial earning potential (maybe not in CA right now). And I have chosen to stay home with my kids and cook and clean and tons of other tasks that repeat daily if not hourly. At then end of the day- I may end up with a decently clean home- dishes done, toys picked up, floors clean; some clean laundry; happy kids tucked in and asleep… It may seem mundane, but I choose to do this as my daily job.

Job: Homemaker.

I have many friends that are choosing this same job. We are all striving to do our best in this role. We all have our strengths and weaknesses in our homemaking and mothering. And many of us are struggling in one way or another to develop our skills as homemaker. Our mother’s generation and some of their mother’s generation changed the face of homemaker- media, marketing, and millionaires had a hand in it as well. Moms went to work outside of the home; Moms embraced the beauty of ready, packaged food, fast food, plastic wrap, etc. Most of us can think back to the food we grew up on and the focus of ‘quick and easy’ for food in and out of the home.

Due to this change, we were not trained to cook good, whole, fresh food at home. We were not trained to use herbs, salt, pepper, fats… to flavor and enhance the foods we eat. We were not trained how to meal plan and shop. We were not trained how to mend clothes. We were not trained how to garden… (Note: I am making a generalization- I know there are plenty of mothers or fathers that have broken this stereotype).

Homemaking training did not take place in a majority of homes. This has left a new generation of moms with changed philosophies floundering to find their way. Many moms are now spending time researching and figuring out how to cook for their family. How to fix clothes. How to plan and organize their home. Etc. The number of blogs written by moms (such as myself) sharing their own journey shows this struggle!

Personally, I was blessed to grow up in a home with a dad that had a passion for cooking and a family that had a garden and ate real, whole, fresh food for the most part. But, I remember thinking it was exciting to go to friends houses and get to eat Cheez Wiz, StoveTop, and Parmesan Cheese in the green can. I didn’t have any friends that ate like we did. I remember being sent with salads in my lunches and being made fun of by the yard duty person. Healthy food was not in. Thankfully, my brothers and I all love good food and are passionate about cooking food because of our upbringing. We walked away with skills in cooking and appreciation for food. But, I don’t know how to mend clothes, and I have had to figure out how to run a household.

I find this to be an interesting phenomenon and in light of such advocates as Michael Pollan and Jaime Oliver and the desires of so many moms to change the way of Home Making, I pray that we can read and share and go back to Making our Homes and making Home Making a respectable endeavor that is passed down to our own children.

