Each night, I bless my kids with God’s words. I say, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.”

This is a very known verse. Probably one of the reasons I have chosen to bless them with it- I have not excelled in scripture memorization over the years. But, as I say it to each of my children each night, I hear the words over and over. Some nights I just hear the words, some nights I don’t even hear them I just say them, and some nights these words speak volumes to me.

Think about these words and ask yourself if you really believe them and if you do how do you show it?

“Trust in the Lord” Do you trust Him? Do you trust Him with your child’s health? Do you trust them with your desperate financial situation? Do you trust him if you lose some or even all of your comforts? Do you really trust Him?

“Do not lean on your own understanding.” How often do we lean on our boxed in, finite understanding of time, situation, purpose, and plan. Do you give up the need to understand purpose of each difficulty in your life because you know He knows?

“In all your ways acknowledge Him!” In everything you do, do you talk to God? Do you call on Him when things go wrong or praise Him when things go right? Is He the one you run to or is your spouse or friend? God wants to live in our lives constantly.

“He will make your paths straight.” God will make our paths straight. But whose path does it need to be? His. My oldest daughter has said many times that we need to say on God’s path and when we make bad choices we are choosing to go on another path… but He wants us to stay straight on His path.

I pray for us as mothers, our impact on such an influential group of blossoming little ones, and our diligence in that as well as our necessity to take that role seriously. May the words of our mouths and the meditations of our hearts be pleasing to You MY God!

