I love vegetables that have been cooked well. So many people suffer through overboiled veggies with the flavor stripped away… which is quite unfortunate! Vegetables have such great flavors that can be enhanced and complemented in so many ways!

One of my favorite ways to cook veggies, especially winter veggies is to roast them. I will use whatever veggies I have on hand- onion, beets (sliced thin), carrots, squash, fennel, turnips, sometimes I will throw in a sliced apple… I toss them with EVOO, salt, pepper, and fresh crushed garlic, possibly an herb such as thyme or sage or rosemary depending on what I have on hand and the main dish pairing. I pour them onto a cookie sheet and spread them out into a nice thin layer. Put them in the oven at 375 to 400 for 20 minutes or so- until the edges start to brown.

These are great as a side dish, tossed in pasta with goat cheese and bacon or pancetta or chicken, added to a marinara sauce, tossed in a salad with goat cheese, added to brown rice or quinoa, use the leftovers for eggs in the morning or make eggs for a quick dinner. You can roast the beets like this and serve them with dip and other raw veggies on a appetizer platter. Layer them into lasagna. Throw them into soup. The options are endless.

